RS elections for 15 states on Feb 27


J&K’s seats lying vacant

Srinagar, Jan 29  : The Election Commission of India on Monday announced that polls for 56 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on February 27.

According to details available with news agency—Kashmir News Observer (KNO), the election for 56 seats will be held in 15 states.

The elections are being held as 50 incumbent RS members will conclude their term on April 2 while the remaining six members will retire on April 3.

The election for RS would be held in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Odisha, and Rajasthan.

Interestingly, Jammu and Kashmir continues to be unrepresented in Rajya Sabha for the second consecutive year as four members from the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir had completed their term in February 2021.

Since then, the four RS seats of J&K lie vacant in the Parliament. “The union territory will continue to remain unrepresented in Rajya Sabha for some more time because elections to four vacant seats from Jammu and Kashmir are not possible as the union territory is without its Assembly,” an official said—(KNO)

ANN News

ANN News is the first and only 24*7 Tv News Channel of Kashmir, having its headquarters at Srinagar. ANN News is available on all leading cable Networks, Also Available On JIO Tv , Vodafone,TataPlay , Candor Network, Dailyhunt and other leading Platforms