PCB Announces 16-Man Squad For Asia Cup 2018

Islamabad: Pakistan Cricket Board has announced its 16-man squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018.

The Pakistan board has roped in young players like Shaheen Afridi and Usman Shinwari.

Shaheen Afridi had impressed with his brisk pace in the recent tour of Zimbabwe in which Men in Green won both the T20I and One-Day series.

Meanwhile, veteran right-handed batsman Mohammad Hafeez has been overlooked for selection.

Shan Masood has received a call-up to the squad.

Masood has played 12 Test matches, however, he is yet to play any One Day International for the Men in Green.

Mohammad Nawaz also makes the cut into the squad.

Sarfraz Ahmed will continue to lead the team’s troops.

The side is in good form as they recently won both the T20I and One Day series in Zimbabwe.

Pakistan will begin their Asia Cup campaign when they will lock horns with arch-rivals India on 19th September in the Group A fixture.

On the other hand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan constitute Group B of the tournament.

Meanwhile, the tourney will take place in the UAE, which will give the advantage to Pakistan.

The Sarfraz Ahmed-led side plays most of its cricket in the UAE as it is team’s adopted home and thus they are familiar with the conditions.

The tournament will begin on 15 September and the final will take on 30th September at Dubai.

Here is Pakistan squad for the Asia Cup 2018:

Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain), Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Imam ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi.

ANN News

ANN News is the first and only 24*7 Tv News Channel of Kashmir, having its headquarters at Srinagar. ANN News is available on all leading cable Networks, Also Available On JIO Tv , Vodafone,TataPlay , Candor Network, Dailyhunt and other leading Platforms

Leave a Reply